BuzzFeed: Shark Jumper.

by

Alternate titles:
Buzzfeed: R.I.P.  whenever – today
Buzzfeed: Torrent Tracker and Recycled Links of 2006’s Hottest Viral Videos

fonzie_jumps_the_shark

But fucking seriously folks, Scott Lamb should be fucking ashamed of himself.  The site that used to be about finding your new favorite thing, is now about stupidity and stealing movies.  Lamb’s latest post is a link to various torrents of the films nominated for the Academy Awards.  Wait, this dude didn’t even do that; he linked to fucking google searches of “titleofmovie+torrent.”  I couldn’t make this shit up.

Listen, I really used to like this site.  I used to contribute all the time, but it deteriorated into making up backlash for things that no reasonable person would dislike (only bitter ass bloggers) and reposting old viral videos.  And as soon as they let the flood gates open, you know, the Raw Feed, there was just a shit ton of spam anyway.  And how does that K.L. May guy get to keep an account?

Oh, and the fucking badge system, don’t get me started.” LOL”, “Viral!”, “Reddit”, “WTF?”…I thought you were better than that.

I’m not the best blogger, writer, whatever out there; I’m mediocre at best, but do you see any links to The Pirate Bay on this little page? Nope.  i may get about 20 hits a day, and 15 of those may go to a (mostly) plagiarized drinking game from the election, but at least I know where I stand.

This might invite some backlash, or it could go ignored, but I just want the old BuzzFeed back.

Writing a word and then putting backlash and a question mark is good for no one.

Related posts:

The Backlash Backlash?

lol

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “BuzzFeed: Shark Jumper.”

  1. Jonah Says:

    I work really hard to make BuzzFeed nice for you. This post breaks my heart!!!! Sometimes we have a terrible post on the front page but our batting average is pretty good. And Scott Lamb was trying to sarcastically point out that GOOGLE is letting people pirate movies – we were talking at lunch about how crazy its that people can just search Google for pirated movies!

  2. oregonjon Says:

    Hi Jonah,
    Honestly dude, I”m sorry if the post hurt your feelings, that wasn’t necessarily my goal. Sometimes it is hard to remember that there are people behind the site, but that is accentuated by what I feel is a quantity over quality approach adopted by BuzzFeed in the past several months. I’ve been an avid reader since August, checking the site every hour or so, and what I really miss is the simplified, streamlined experience. I’m not the only one. I saw the following quote on my friend feed: “It’s true, I love Buzzfeed, but it’s been getting kind bottom feeder lately. It started as topics that captured the zeitgeist of the day, now its starting to get “dumb kitten video” of the day.”
    That sums up my feelings with far less cursing.
    I get that Scott’s post was a joke – now that you explained it to me. But no shit, the sarcasm was lost on EVERYBODY. I would’ve felt pretty dumb if I was the only one that didn’t get the joke – in fact I probably would have emailed you begging for your forgiveness. Jokes are rarely funny if you have to explain them.
    My criticisms are fairly harsh, but I feel one of the most entertaining things I do everyday slipping away into lowest common denominator land. I don’t want your site to turn into the internet equivalent of Entertainment Tonight.
    So yeah, there it is. Thank you for your response, Jonah.
    _Jon
    PS: I owe BuzzFeed for the two biggest days my blog ever had (over 2,500 hits).
    PPS: Seriously, what the fuck is with that KL May guy?

Leave a Reply

